Mint vs TCG Collector: scanner app or web checklist?

Mint (iPhone scanner and price tracker) compared with TCG Collector (web-based set checklist without scanning): features, free tiers, Premium pricing and who each one suits.

Updated

These two are different tools that get compared because both track Pokémon collections. TCG Collector is a website (with an Android wrapper, no iPhone app) built around the most detailed set and variant checklists available, including Japanese and Chinese sets. Mint is an iPhone app built around scanning cards and tracking their value. Many collectors use both: TCG Collector for master-set bookkeeping, Mint for scanning and prices.

Mint vs TCG Collector (2026-09-17)
MintTCG Collector
PlatformsiPhone, iPad (iOS 26+)Web; Android wrapper app; no iOS app
Card scanningSingle and multi-card (Deck Sweep™)None, cards are added manually
PricesCardMarket (EUR), TCGPlayer (USD), PSA graded, updated dailyPrice tracking and "cost to completion" on Premium; sources not stated
Set databases176 English sets, 21,000+ cardsInternational, Japanese and Chinese sets
Variant trackingRarity and printed variantsVery detailed: reverse holo, language, condition, graded per card
Free tier20 scans per month, 200 cards, 1 binder, 3 alerts1 list of 300 cards, 3 notes
Premium$6.99/month, $39.99/year, $59.99 lifetimePremium subscription, roughly $40/year (price shown in-browser only)
Pokédex completionYesPremium only
Portfolio value and historyYes, 1 day to 1 yearNo portfolio chart; cost-to-completion on Premium
Price alertsYesNo
Interface languages6Not stated

Choose TCG Collector if

  • You track master sets with every reverse holo, language and condition variant.
  • You collect Japanese or Chinese sets today.
  • You work on a desktop browser or Android and do not need scanning.

Choose Mint if

  • You want to add cards by scanning instead of typing.
  • You care what the collection is worth, in euros and dollars, and how that changes over time.
  • You want price alerts and graded prices on your iPhone.

How this comparison was made

Facts were taken from each app's own App Store listing, in-app purchase list and website on 2026-09-17 (links in the sources list). Ratings are the US App Store. Where a vendor does not publish a fact it is marked n/a rather than guessed. Mint is our app, so the trade-offs section spells out where the others win. Corrections: josh@getmint.app.

Disclosure: this page is published by the maker of Mint. Every claim about another app links to that app's own public page, and the section on where each app is stronger is written to be fair. Prices are US App Store prices on 2026-09-17 and change without notice.